photography from the ground up

Cranes

Cranes

Cranes are perennially monogamous, meaning that they keep the same mate for their entire lives. I caught this pair in a tender moment as the sun was setting at Bosque del Apache NWR last year.

A year later, and, once again, I am preparing to make my annual journey to the Bosque. In doing so, I find myself wondering if this pair will be there, or if they might have met some terrible fate during their migration, or even worse perhaps, if only one of them has survived. I recently watched a documentary movie titled “Winged Migration”. It is a beautifully photographed movie about migrating birds, and I highly recommend it to anyone who would like to know more about these wonderful creatures. But, I digress!

Equipment: Nikon D200, Nikon 300 mm f 4 lens

Processing: Contrast, vibrance, clarity, and saturation adjustments in Lightroom, curves adjustment in Photoshop

One response

  1. You’ve always had a talent for writing; even simple, everyday circumstances become elegiac.

    Like

    December 4, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Tell Me What You Think

