photography from the ground up

Storm Over Chupadera

We just got back from our trip to Bosque del Apache. I guess I’ve been a little spoiled in the past, weather–wise. This time around, we had just enough time to do a bike ride around the Farm Loop when the skies opened up; the weather was damp and overcast for the entire trip. I was disappointed because I had this pre–conceived idea of the images I hoped to make (glorious sunsets, cranes in flight, pretty much the same types of photos I had made on my previous trips to the Bosque). In other words, I was in a rut!

As it turned out, the weather forced me to take a different approach to my image–making, and I’m happy to say that I feel pretty good about the results. It’s not that I discovered any new techniques, but I did (once again) come to the realization that I should not have expectations, or pre–conceived ideas about my photography. When I think that way, it hampers my creativity, and I usually just get frustrated; from there, it’s a downward spiral.

This image was made near the end of the first day. We had left the reserve, and decided to stop at the Chupadera pond along State Road 1. The cranes were starting to fly in for the night, and there was a storm over the San Mateo mountains to the west. I was so intent on the birds that I hadn’t noticed the feathery clouds over Chupadera Peak, but my companion pointed them out to me, and I made one exposure. This is the result.

Equipment: Nikon D200, Nikon 80–400 mm lens.

Processing: Clarity, contrast, vibrance, and saturation adjustments in Lightroom, curves adjustment in Photoshop.

2 responses

  1. Cheryl

    Perfect! One of the beautiful reasons to love New Mexico; storms brewing in the distance, and watching them move. The light the storms produce are unmatchable…

    Like

    December 23, 2009 at 12:25 am

  2. I hear what you mean about “expectations” ruining your creativity with a sour mood followed by said ‘downward spiral’. I can get as fustrated as a four-year-old, emotionally. But that is also the same source-well from where spouteth our creativity and willingnes to ‘play’ or experiement. The dichotomy of it all! Beautiful work. I checked in to see your birds, as I love them, and live in a town named after the master himself, John James. And enjoy the company of a white ring-necked dove.

    Like

    March 5, 2011 at 8:22 am

Tell Me What You Think

