photography from the ground up

Ferngully

This is another image from Ricketts Glen. We were almost to the confluence of the two forks of Kitchen Creek when I spotted a small stream entering the main flow from the west, so I bushwacked up through the watercourse for about a hundred yards, and I was rewarded with this little cascade. The scene brought to mind an animated movie that was a favorite of my girls when they were small.

I started with my regular workflow in Adobe Lightroom, then I did a three exposure fusion in Photomatix Pro, and finally some curves and color balance adjustments in Photoshop.

Equipment: Nikon D700, Nikon 17-35 mm zoom lens, 2 stop ND filter, Bogen tripod.

Camera Settings: f22, 8/10ths, 1/3rd, 3 sec., ISO 250

One response

  1. This is truly breathtaking. Quite the change of pace from the desert photos you’ve been taking lately!

    Like

    June 5, 2010 at 4:09 am

Tell Me What You Think

