photography from the ground up

The Edge Of The World

Here is a new image from Ah-Shi-Sle-Pah in the San Juan Basin. This was the first photo of the day. I hadn’t walked fifty steps from my truck when I came upon this textured rock right on the edge of what I call The Hoodoo Forest. The clouds were moving fast, and the whole scene looked a bit alien. I felt a sense of satisfaction when I released the shutter; I knew it would be a good day.

I was attempting to portray the singularity of this place for those who have never been there, and those who probably never will be. It is a hidden gem, tucked away in a seldom visited section of the San Juan Basin. The better known Bisti Wilderness is not far to the west, and the ever popular Chaco Canyon is just to the east. But, for all their notoriety, neither of those places can match Ah-Shi-Sle-Pah’s harsh, bizarre beauty.

I used my normal workflow: RAW conversion, white balance, contrast, sharpening, and saturation adjustments in Adobe Lightroom, and a curves adjustment in Photoshop. This is a single exposure image: aperture–f22, shutter speed–1/50th sec., ISO–100.

Tell Me What You Think

