photography from the ground up

Landscape Photography On An Overcast Day

Everyone knows you don’t shoot landscapes on an overcast day. The light is too flat to get any depth in your images. Right? One of the things I learned a long time ago is: Learn the rules, but take them with a grain of salt.

One tool that is available to those of us who dabble in the digital realm is HDR or High Dynamic Range for the uninitiated. Normally, if you expose for the highlights in a contrasty situation, the shadows will be blocked up with little or no detail in them, and vice-versa if you expose for the shadows. By making a number of exposures 1/2 to 1 stop apart, a photographer can then combine those images to expand the dynamic range of the photograph–the dynamic range is the spectrum of tonal variations from pure black to pure white that can be captured by a camera. Another effect that can be achieved by combining multiple images is a heightening of contrast in an otherwise flat image.

On a recent photo excursion to the Ojito Wilderness, I had occasion to test the efficacy of this technique. We had started out on a partly overcast day to hike and photograph in a part of the Ojito known as the Colored Bluffs. The closer we got to our destination, the heavier the overcast grew until it obliterated the sun and the nice puffy clouds that had been there a short time before. We began our walk hoping for some better conditions,

As we reached the top of the mesa, the entire landscape changed and we were rewarded with incredible vistas in every direction. The light was still flat, but the visual cornucopia before us made that seem almost irrelevant. Everywhere I looked, there was an image just waiting to be captured. So, I happily started shooting, all the while telling myself that I would have to return on a better day. I realized right away that I would need to blend exposures to get the most out of the images I was capturing. I bracketed five exposures for each scene I shot.

This first photo was taken near the point where we emerged from the wash on top of the mesa. The colors were more saturated because of the overcast, and this dilapidated fence line seemed to invite me into the canyon.

As we continued along the trail, we came across this small clump of rabbitbrush, which was juxtaposed against the colored bluffs in the background. The plant was a contrast in the stark landscape, but it also provided a harmonious counterpoint to the scene.

We were constantly aware of the overcast and the declining sun, but we couldn’t seem to turn back. We had the “let’s just see what’s over that next rise” syndrome. Finally, we came to a high place on the trail which was our “turn back no matter what” point. This is the view looking northwest with Cabezon visible on the far horizon. A fitting climax to a wonderful journey of discovery.

We slowly made our way back towards the parking area. This is the view looking west where the bike trail heads down off the top of the mesa. I was excited about the images and exhilarated by the possibilities this place holds. I also confirmed my belief that it is possible to make passable, or even great images on an overcast day. All of these photos were shot RAW with initial processing in Adobe Lightroom. They were then blended in Photomatix Pro using the Exposure Fusion tool, and final processing was done in Adobe Photoshop.

12 responses

  1. Excellent Colors! They are really well balanced!

    Like

    March 24, 2011 at 8:10 am

    • Jim

      Thanks. This landscape is truly amazing. The colors jump out at you.

      Like

      March 24, 2011 at 9:12 am

  2. Sukanya Ramanujan

    Excellent composition!

    Like

    March 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

    • Jim

      Thank you Sukanya.

      Like

      March 24, 2011 at 9:11 am

  3. islandmomma Life on a Small Island and Beyond

    Beautiful and fascinating. Having taken up photography later in life I found myself to be a bit of a purist i.e. I dislike “photoshopping” and “arty-farty” stuff. My idea was to convey to others the beauty and interest I saw with my own eyes, so when we came to the HDR part of the course I did I felt as if it was cheating, and after the class was over I didn’t use it at all. That was a year ago. However, you have shown me a totally different side to HDR. So often, in fact, we cannot convey what the eyes sees via the camera, and HDR can be a tool to help us do just that I see. Thank you for proving to me what my teachers couldn’t explain!

    Like

    March 24, 2011 at 10:35 am

    • Jim

      If my images and my writing are able to have a positive effect on someone, then I’m doing what I set out to do, and that makes me smile. I don’t particularly go for the heavy HDR look in my photography that’s why I use the exposure fusion side of Photomatix Pro instead of the tone mapping side. It gives a much more natural blend in my opinion. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

      March 24, 2011 at 1:37 pm

  4. amazing photos, I really love the colours. I recently tried this effect but it was on a daffodil, which is pale in comparison to these stunning views.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    Like

    March 24, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • Jim

      Thanks. I’ve never tried HDR on a close-up or macro image. It might be interesting.

      Like

      March 25, 2011 at 6:40 am

  5. Hi Jim what an amazing landscape are you offering us.

    Like

    January 8, 2013 at 10:12 am

  6. Beautiful photos! The colors are so striking that they almost look like paintings.

    Like

    July 25, 2013 at 8:07 am

Tell Me What You Think

