photography from the ground up

Trees In The Desert, Specks In Time

I have been to the Bisti Wilderness more times than I can count; I lead Photo Tours out there, but there are so many nooks and crannies I doubt that I will ever be able to say I’ve seen all of it. Last week we made a quick one day trip just because we hadn’t been there in a while. We visited some of our favorite spots, including the Egg Garden and the Bisti Arch.

Here is a view of the Egg Garden that I haven’t done before and below is a look at the Arch from a wider perspective–it’s in the multicolored formation in the middle ground. Breaking habits (in both subject matter and perspective) is an important step in growing as an artist; you have to keep it fresh.

Next we wandered into an area I hadn’t been to before and in the space of about thirty minutes, we found at least five intact petrified logs; some partially unearthed like the one in the image above and some completely exposed like the one shown below. After who knows how many millennia buried in a sandstone tomb, the fossilized remains of these old trees are once again exposed under the same sun that set on their demise.

Apart from the intact petrified remains, there are also many fractured and broken remnants scattered about. The next image shows several smaller logs lying close together as if placed there in preparation for a petrified campfire.

Not only is this area rich in fossils, it is also home to a large number of hoodoos and eroded rock forms similar to the ones in the Egg Garden. I’m sure that others have been to this part of the Bisti, but I don’t recall ever having seen images of these logs or of the landscapes I have recorded here.

This last image is of Robin and me resting against the large tree with a view to the east. In two weeks I will be back out there leading a tour for a couple from Germany. The best parts of what I do are exploring new places and making new friends from around the world. These things help me realize that we, as people, are not so different from one another, and that we, as a species, are not so powerful or important as we might like to think we are.

16 responses

  1. Amazing images Jim.. I love the clarity of your pictures.

    Like

    August 30, 2012 at 11:41 pm

  2. What a fascinating place! The images are strong and make me want to shoot there too.

    Like

    August 31, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    • Thanks, it is a fascinating place. I lead Photo Tours there if you’re ever interested.

      Like

      September 1, 2012 at 3:58 pm

      • One of these days I would love to do that. Do you tour at particular times of the year?

        Like

        September 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      • I try to avoid doing tours in the summer. Most of my tours are in a desert environment and it can get very hot. Fall, winter, and spring are the best times.

        Like

        September 9, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  3. Absolutely spectacular. I so want to go there!

    Like

    September 1, 2012 at 12:07 pm

  4. so clear and great depth 🙂

    Like

    September 3, 2012 at 4:09 am

  5. amazing
    i’m really impressed

    Like

    September 16, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  6. Wow! Amazing photography of a fascinating place… phew! good one!

    Like

    September 18, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    • Your tours look interesting also, if ever in New Mexico… my brother lives in Las Lunas.

      Like

      September 18, 2012 at 6:11 pm

      • I just drove through Las Lunas on my way home from White Sands.

        Like

        September 19, 2012 at 8:13 am

    • Thanks Patricia. It is a pretty fascinating place.

      Like

      September 19, 2012 at 8:12 am

  7. I love your photography. It’s great that you really seem to be doing what you love. I can’t wait until I reach that point. And, I love the philosophy that we really aren’t all that different as a species, and not as powerful as we think.

    Like

    September 12, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Tell Me What You Think

