photography from the ground up

The Bisti’s Greatest Hits

In my last post, I showed you images of some new terrain and features that I discovered on a recent trip to the Bisti Wilderness. In this entry I would like to show you some new images of places and things I have photographed before under different light or under different conditions.

Alamo Wash is the main conduit for the southern section of the Bisti. Most of the hoodoos, rock formations and other wonders to be found in the Bisti Wilderness are located in smaller side drainages that empty in Alamo Wash. Although I have been to this place many times, this is the first time I have seen any appreciable amount of water in the wash. I was drawn to the light on the rippled texture along the edge. I think this image tells a great deal about this land of severe contrasts.

As you make your way up the middle of Alamo Wash, if you are in the right alignment, you will see a curios formation in the distance. What makes it stand out to the trained eye is the color variation from the rest of the surrounding landscape. The Bisti Arch is comprised of a dark brown cap of rock which rests on a base of lighter and softer sandstone and mudstone. The base is a gradation of nearly white to a golden brown and is fluted which makes it resemble a freestanding component of Greek architecture.

Just around the corner from the Bisti Arch is the Egg Garden–probably the best known and most popular area of the Bisti. When someone signs up for one of my Photo Tours, this is the first thing they ask about. The Queen Bee is undoubtedly the favorite formation within the Egg Garden. I’ve photographed it so many times, it’s getting hard for me to find a fresh take on it.

The Egg Garden gets its name from the numerous egg-shaped rocks scattered about like, well…eggs in a gigantic Easter egg hunt. The bowl shaped rock in the above image has shifted since my last visit, most likely due to a heavy flow of water through the wash in which the garden is located.

Along with the cracked eggs, the Bisti Wilderness is also known for its ubiquitous hoodoos. They are literally everywhere you look, and, as this image attests, they can stretch to the horizon in some places.

11 responses

  1. Amazing images as ever Jim. Which HDR program do you use? I’ve been using Nik’s HDR efex pro but I get very grainy rather sylised images. I’d like a more natural look when I use HDR software. Thanks

    Like

    September 10, 2012 at 8:25 am

    • Thanks. I use Photomatix Pro in the Exposure Fusion mode. It renders a more natural image in my opinion.

      Like

      September 10, 2012 at 8:52 am

      • Thanks Jim, I’ll check it out!

        Like

        September 10, 2012 at 8:54 am

  2. Fabulous images. I had never heard of the Bisti, but now I must go there! Thanks for the motivation.

    Like

    September 12, 2012 at 10:40 pm

  3. great presented photo galleries and a blog …

    Like

    September 14, 2012 at 12:19 am

  4. loved the way how you create these pictures 🙂

    Like

    September 17, 2012 at 12:24 am

  5. Amazing and wonderful pictures.I had never hear about Bisti wilderness but be sure.I loved the photos

    Like

    October 8, 2012 at 9:46 am

Tell Me What You Think

