photography from the ground up

In My Yard

I live in a small village in north-central New Mexico and the Jemez River runs through my yard. There is one apple tree; I don’t harvest the apples. In the fall when they begin to ripen, the deer make my yard their own and feast on the apples.

In-Velvet

They also come through to get to the river. There is a drainage that runs from the mesa top five hundred feet above and the deer use this as a conduit to move to and from the river which is the most reliable source of water for miles.

Buck-In-Velvet

The deer: bucks, does, and fawns have become a regular source of enjoyment for me. Just looking out and seeing them browsing at the tree or grazing in the grasses gives me a sense of connection to them and their world–my world.

Big-Bull

Last week while editing some images and trying to pick one to post to my Facebook page, I went to my coffee pot to pour a cup, then to the door to survey the yard. I was greeted by this majestic bull elk. There are plenty of elk in the Jemez Mountains and I’ve seen many on, or near the road, especially in the high country; but this was the first time I had seen one in my yard. He was nervous and I had to move slowly to get into position to get a decent line of sight.

A-Big-Bull-2

I managed to make eight exposures and the two I have posted here are my picks. I hope this guy makes my place a regular stop in the future.

13 responses

  1. Beautiful images Jim. I like the blue elk pictures especially.

    Like

    January 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

  2. I meant bull elk..

    Like

    January 16, 2013 at 9:13 am

  3. You are lucky man, Jim. =)

    Like

    January 17, 2013 at 7:38 am

  4. What a busy yard you have! I am taking a lot of yard pictures now that I’ve moved to a small beach town in Costa Rica. Parrots fly by in the morning…almost impossible to get an emotive shot of them – they’re busy. Howler monkeys will at least sit still, and the Capuchins just sit and throw stuff at me. I guess I got to live somewhere. I’ll guess your posts will be my large mammal fix for now…there’s none of those around here, just a lot of geckos, iguanas, tarantulas, and scorpions. Pura Vida!

    Like

    January 17, 2013 at 6:18 pm

  5. I am so jealous, love photo!

    Like

    January 18, 2013 at 7:51 pm

  6. Nice shots! You’re lucky to have such willing and photogenic subjects as neighbors.

    Like

    January 19, 2013 at 6:11 am

  7. A lot of beautiful elk photo’s

    Like

    January 19, 2013 at 4:29 pm

  8. You are extremely talented! Love your photography.

    Like

    January 22, 2013 at 7:52 am

  9. Beautiful shots, gorgeous Elk.

    Like

    June 15, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Tell Me What You Think

