photography from the ground up

A New Perspective

On a recent Photo Tour in the Bisti Wilderness, I decided to change my approach. I did this by bringing my D300 (DX Format) instead of my D700 (Full Frame Format). I also left my tripod at home–something I never do. But I was trying to step outside of my box, get out of my comfort zone, and try to re-charge my creativity.

A-Variegated-Wilderness

One of the things I had no control over was the atmospheric conditions. Most of you who know my work are used to seeing dramatic, brooding skies in my images, but sometimes mother nature doesn’t co-operate, so I compensated by limiting the amount of sky I included in my images, concentrating instead on the fore and middle-ground. I made the first image in the area known as the Brown Hoodoos. I wanted to emphasize the variety of colors that are prevalent in the landscape, the reds, blacks, greens, and browns that help make the Bisti a visual feast.

The-Red-Twins

This hill stands alone near the edge of Alamo Wash. It has become a landmark for navigation. Yes, even with a GPS, I still navigate by sight at times.

Caught-In-The-Eye

The-Mountains-Of-The-Moon

These two images are from the Bisti Arch. The first is a repeat of an image I made last year using my full frame camera and 17-35 mm lens. The second is from a bit further away and looking past the arch towards the southeast.

Stone-Flowers

Heart-Of-Stone

The Egg Garden is probably the most well known section in the entire Bisti Wilderness. So named because of the eroded rocks which resemble large eggs, the Egg Garden covers an area about the size of a football field.

Petrified-Log-Bisti-Wilderness

The last image was made in a side wash about a half mile beyond the Egg Garden. There are several good size petrified trees and a large number of hoodoos. This is usually the last stop on my tours before turning around and heading back to the parking area.

8 responses

  1. Hi Jim,
    As always, nice images!

    Like

    March 15, 2013 at 9:58 am

  2. Such an amazing landscape beautifully photographed as ever Jim.

    Like

    March 15, 2013 at 10:02 am

  3. Gorgeous landscape.I wa

    Like

    March 18, 2013 at 7:45 am

  4. Belle minéralité !

    Like

    March 19, 2013 at 4:54 am

  5. Beautiful pix and landscape

    Like

    June 17, 2013 at 11:41 pm

  6. Amazing Landscape! 🙂

    Like

    July 29, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Tell Me What You Think

