photography from the ground up

Adobe

Just about anywhere you go in New Mexico, you will find crumbling adobe ruins. They speak of a time when the pace of life was more relaxed, more sane. I have photographed hundreds of these ruins over the years. These are just a few of my favorites.

I have photographed this adobe wall several times. It is tucked away in a small northern New Mexico village. I love the layers on this wall, the peeling paint, the crumbling stucco, the eroded adobe, and then there’s the weathered wooden slats and peeling plywood.

Nikon DF, Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 @42mm, 1/500 sec, f8

This rock/adobe house is tucked away in a village not far from where I live. I’ve driven past it thousands of times, but I never noticed it (hidden back off the road as it is). When I did finally see it it had a visual impact on me and I made this image.

Nikon DF, Nikkor 80-200 f2.8 @150mm, 1/80 sec, f10

In eastern New Mexico there are many small communities that are just hanging on. They boomed during the 50s and 60s when many people were driving the Mother Road, US 66. Today they are but ghosts of their former selves. I found this old pink adobe in one of those villages.

Nikon DfF, Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 @35mm, 1/640 sec., f10

I was attracted to the colors and textures in this scene. The house is located on a two lane highway in north-central New Mexico, but the small town was pretty much deserted

Nikon DF, Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 @50mm, 1/160 sec, f5

If you are interested in purchasing a print of one of the images in this post, just click on the image and you will be directed to that image’s page on my website.

 

 

One response

  1. Great photo’s.I love Mexico.I live there 6 months

    Like

    June 29, 2023 at 6:58 am

Tell Me What You Think