photography from the ground up

Stonebones

Ah-Shi-Sle-Pah! What more can you say? Over the past couple of years, I have become a connoisseur of inhospitable desert places. The badlands of the San Juan Basin are, perhaps the most inhospitable, and at the same time, the most fascinating, the most beautiful, the most other–worldly landscapes I have seen anywhere.

Today I made my first trip to Ah-Shi-Sle-Pah Wash. Ah-Shi-Sle-Pah lies in the middle of the San Juan Basin: somewhere between Chaco Canyon and the Bisti/De-Na-Zin Wilderness. I had heard stories, I had read blogs, I had seen hundreds of photographs, but none of them prepared me for the actual experience.

My companion and I wandered around the bizarre landscape for the better part of a day. When we uttered a word, it was usually an exclamation of pure astonishment. So, I’ve rambled on enough. I’ll let the images do the talking. Here is one of my favorites (so far) from the day’s shooting.

Equipment: Nikon D700, Nikon 17–35 mm f2.8 zoom lens, circular polarizer, Bogen tripod.

Camera Settings: f 22, 1/25th sec., ISO 100

Tell Me What You Think

