photography from the ground up

Transcendence

Transcendence

Okay, Okay, I know it’s another fence photo. This was actually the first time I had consciously included a manmade object in an image in a long time. I was driving across the Valles Caldera one winter day; it was foggy and there was fresh snow on the ground. I noticed this fence line angling off into the distance, and it seemed as though it was floating. There was no discernible horizon; it was like watching a dream unfold.

This is another of those images that I visualized in B&W as I was setting up the shot. I knew I wanted simplicity, to the exclusion of everything but the lines, shapes and tonal values. Color would have been an overstatement.

Equipment: Nikon F100, Nikon 35–70 mm f 2.8 zoom lens, Fuji Velvia.

Processing: Nikon CoolscanV, Curves, and B&W conversion in Photoshop

Tell Me What You Think

